Kitchen must-keep: pizza crust

20140318-210345.jpg
People often tell me they don’t have time to cook. I hear that; I work 50-hour weeks and often arrive home starved and cranky. The secret is prep.

Not every meal needs to be a production. Just say no to your next takeout fat bomb or mac ‘n cheese binge by stocking your freezer with Golden Home Ultra Crispy & Thin Pizza Crusts. Each serving (a third of a crust) is just 130 calories, 1.5 g fat, 26 carbs, and 3 WW Points+. That means if you top wisely, you can eat the whole thing. Cue singing angels and hallelujah chorus.

The possibilities are literally endless:

Rub with olive oil and garlic and top with reduced-fat mozzarella for a crispy take on garlic bread.

Top with sliced Roma tomatoes, garlic, spinach leaves, basil, and fresh mozzarella for a healthy margherita pizza.

Pile high with seasoned taco meat (use veggie crumbles for cruelty-free and low-fat yum!), Rotel canned tomatoes/chilies, avocado slices, black olives, green onions, shredded lettuce, and Greek yogurt for a feast of a Mexican pizza.

Cover with homemade sauce of puréed fat-free ricotta, garlic, and fresh spinach and basil, then add mozzarella and bake for a bright, flavorful “green goddess” pizza.

Add scrambled egg whites, peppers, onions, fresh snipped chives, and smoked salmon or sausage crumbles for a breakfast omelet’za.

No matter which option you go for, it’ll take you from freezer to dinner in like ten minutes or less. It’s a huge leap up from greasy drive-through, but (shhh!) you don’t actually have to cook.

5 thoughts on “Kitchen must-keep: pizza crust

  1. Marcia Goodich says:

    LITERALLY ENDLESS???? Five down, infinity to go…

    Otherwise, sounds delicious!

  2. jnbm63 says:

    Looks good! I tried the cauliflower crust pizza last week and that was pretty good. Not much like pizza crust, but good.

  3. Cady says:

    Kara,
    Have you considered adding a “Pin” button to your posts? I love so many of your posts and would LOVE IT if I could Pin them to my WW recipe boards!

    • karacantcook says:

      Hi! It’s hard to see because of the blog theme I chose, but there’s a “Share This” option at the bottom of each blog post with Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter, and more. Even easier, I Pin all of my recipes and you can follow me at pinterest.com/karacantcook. Thanks!

      • Cady says:

        Yes, after I posted my comment, I viewed the post from your actual blog, and not in my email, where I promptly pinned the posts I wanted – thanks for being awesome!

Leave a Reply

